Kelly Wearstler Releases New Furniture, FKA Twigs Takes on Noguchi, and More News

From significant business shifts to remarkable product launches, there’s always something new happening in the world of design. In this bi-weekly roundup, AD PRO has everything you need to know.

Product launches

Kelly Wearstler launches a line of furniture inspired by the 1970s

On April 18, AD Hall of Fame designer Kelly Wearstler introduced the Morro collection. Tables, lounge chairs and sofas are inspired by furniture trends of the 1970s, such as softer, monolithic designs. Nods to mid-century Japanese furniture can also be spotted in the range, as can fabrics from Wearstler’s latest collection with Lee Jofa.

Porsche teams up with Rimowa

Porsche has again teamed up with luxury luggage brand Rimowa (whose own collaborators have included fashion giants like Supreme, Off-White and Dior, as well as Aesop). When they joined forces in 2013, Porsche and Rimowa launched a line that included a sleek, limited-edition trolley. Now, a special-edition carry case, named Pepita, celebrates the heritage of both brands by drawing inspiration from Porsche’s iconic 911 series. The case is wrapped in Rimowa’s signature aluminum, with the Porsche crest emblazoned in the center.


Jenni Kayne Home Launches Membership Program

Fans of Jenni Kayne’s eponymous homewares brand may find the all-new JKH Membership, a members-only shopping program, irresistible. For an annual fee of $150, members will receive exclusive benefits including early access to new products, invitations to members-only events, free styling services and 20% off products. The discount also applies to products from the brand’s rotating partnerships. Upcoming collaborations include Portola Paints, Waterworks, Staub and Olive Ateliers.


ICAA Announces Winners

The Institute of Classical Architecture and Art has announced its winners for the 2022 Arthur Ross Awards, which annually recognize excellence in the classical tradition. The illustrious list of recipients spans architecture, design, education, writing and urban planning. This year’s winners are Appleton Partners LLP, John Danzer of Munder-Skiles, Suzanne Rheinstein and Associates, Barry Bergdoll, Timothy Smith and Jonathan Taylor, Arne Maynard Garden Design and Raymond L. Gindroz. The finalists were selected by a panel of judges including President Kathryn Herman, Courtney Coleman and Elizabeth Graziolo, among others. This year’s honored presidents included Janet C. Ross, Suzanne R. Santry and Bunny Williams. A celebration will be held on Monday, May 23 at the University Club in New York.


New York exhibit focuses on women who shaped modern design

On April 20, the Carpenters Workshop Gallery opened the doors to its latest exhibition in New York, “The Female Voice in Modern Design 1950–2000”. Curated by renowned design historian Daniella Ohad, the exhibition examines notable and overlooked female designers who have helped shape the history of modern design. Covering both floors of the gallery, each exhibit section traces a specific design era, looking at the trends of the time through a historical and political lens. The exhibition presents more than 50 European designers including Charlotte Perriand, Simone Prouvé, Gae Aulenti and Lina Bo Bardi; paired alongside artists such as Ingrid Donat and Johanna Grawunder.

Comments are closed.